Honda Africa Twin & 250 Rally Motorcycle Rentals & Tours

Client Testimonials & Reviews

Here are a few Basic questions we ask our clients:

Feb 2019 - Pedro, Spain - 6 Day Guided Garden Adventure Route Tour


 

a. Did you find the route within your riding capabilities and was the Craig professional and helpful ?
I have few off road experience, this was my second route and I think in it was a proper one most of the time because I used to ride slow. A couple of times we had to cross a sand path I preferred do it by foot. Craig was always very helpful and professional, in fact I had a flat tire in a not easy place, he took care of everything and solve the issue quite fast.
 

b. Was the route and scenic and interesting?  

All the places and landscapes were awesome, the mountains, coast, beaches and the desert zones that we crossed give us spectaculars views, really nice ones.
 

c. Can you list any highlights of the experience?

We have the opportunity to spend one night in a natural reserve with some wild game and huge dunes at the seaside and was fantastic.
 

d. Was the accommodation acceptable and comfortable?

Yes, All the accommodation were on my opinion quite nice and comfortable and give us proper rest after our riding hours. The food was always very good.
 

e. Were the Motorcycles and accessories in good condition? .

The Africa Twin I drove was nice and the tires were in good condition.
 

f. What rating out of ten would you give the whole experience with Africa Twin Rentals ? 
I give a 9 because due to my lack of off road experience  I had sometimes tough moments.
 

g. Was the experience something you would recommend to friends with similar Motorcycling interest?

With no doubt yes, I talk to most people about the trip and all were very interested on it.

h. Would you consider touring with Africa Twin Rentals again?
Again yes, of course.

An unforgettable and incredible one!!!!

Regards - Pedro, Spain

Here are a few Basic questions we ask our clients:

Feb 2018 - John & Chris, United Kingdom - 12 Day Guided Garden Adventure Route Tour


 

a. Did you find the route within your riding capabilities and was the Craig professional and helpful ?
Chris: Yes I found that the route was exactly what I wanted.  It was a little bit challenging at times, which in my case was on steep and tight rocky descents but it was good to push the envelope and I never felt out of my depth.  At all times Craig was extremely professional and sensible in his outlook and planning of routes according to our capabilities.
John: Craig did a great job matching and modifying the route according to our abilities and changing weather conditions. We have self-guided off-road before but this was much better, maximizing opportunities.

b. Was the route and scenic and interesting?  

Chris: I thought that the route was extremely interesting and beautiful both in terms of the scenery and the variance of different road conditions.
John: The route was amazing and varied, from coast roads, wagon trails, escarpments, mountain passes, gorges and ‘Die Hel’.

c. Can you list any highlights of the experience?

Chris: I really enjoyed to game reserve safaris and the Ouberg Pass in respect of the stunning views.  Also despite the hot conditions Die Hel was a really cool place to get to on a motorcycle as were the farms that we stayed in literally miles from the nearest town and to have a glimpse into the lives of the people who run them.
John: For me it was the mountains, gorges, varied accommodation and Craig’s banter!

d. Was the accommodation acceptable and comfortable?

Chris: Yes, the accommodation varied between farms, hotels and B & B but was in general of a good to high standard.
John: Yes without exception, comfortable, characterful and varied

e. Were the Motorcycles and accessories in good condition? .

Chris: In my case yes.  I did not have any issues whatsoever with the Africa Twin, although as discussed it would have been useful to have some slime in the tyres and to have a center stand so fix a front puncture and other issues.
John: We rode the Africa Twin, which was superb apart from the initial punctures, later cured by a replacement tyre and sealant in the tubes. If only the AT had tubeless wheel rims/tyres a centre stand and bigger footrests (are you listening Honda)! 

f. What rating out of ten would you give the whole experience with Africa Twin Rentals ?

Chris: I would give the experience a 10 out of 10.
John: Based on other organized on and off road tours around the world 12\10

g. Was the experience something you would recommend to friends with similar Motorcycling interest?

Chris: Yes definitely!
John: Very definitely

h. Would you consider touring with Africa Twin Rentals again?
Chris: Again yes I would and would like details of future trips in Namibia.
John: Hoping to go to Namibia in 2019

Chris: The whole experience was fantastic and only enhanced by Craig’s knowledge and personality.  He was extremely patient and relaxed at all times, which together with a well thought out and highly interesting route made the trip one to remember.
John: The whole tour was well organized and all problems sorted out as they arose, Craig was a very friendly and Professional guide throughout – money well spent. I have ridden in South America, Asia and New Zealand but this is the best so far - we’ll be back J

Regards - Chris & John, UK

Here are a few Basic questions we ask our clients:

Jan 2018 - Marco & Carole, Switzerland - 7 Day Custom Guided Garden Route Tour


 

a. Did you find the route within your riding capabilities and was the Craig/Hentie professional and helpful ?
The routes were great and Craig could always change them spontaneously if needed! He's a really a professional.

 

b. Was the route and scenic and interesting?  

 Of course everything was new to us, so it was interesting. But Craig knows so much about the places and routes
  which made it even more interesting

 

c. Can you list any highlights of the experience?

   Drowns, photos, laser pointer  good conversations with Craig... Beautiful landscapes
 

d. Was the accommodation acceptable and comfortable?

   All the B&B were perfect for us. Always with a good breakfasts.
 

e. Were the Motorcycles and accessories in good condition? .

   Everything was in good condition, yes
 

f. What rating out of ten would you give the whole experience with Africa Twin Rentals ?

   I think it's a 10 out of 10
 

g. Was the experience something you would recommend to friends with similar Motorcycling interest?

   Yes definitely!
 

 h. Would you consider touring with Africa Twin Rentals again?
  Yes already pland it

It was an awesome tour and it was absolutely worth it to go with Craig because he can change the routes for you every day. So if you wish to ride on gravel he can add more gravel if you want to go bungee jump he takes you there, if you want to go to a game reserve no problem, you just have to tell him what you want and he arranges it for you.  He knows the good places to go and you're free to do what ever you want.

Regards - Marco & Carole, Switzerland

Here are a few Basic questions we ask our clients:

November 2017 - Peter, Geoff, Bertil, Freddy, Charly, Mark 5 Day Cederberg and Karoo Self-Guided


 

a. Did you find the route within your riding capabilities and was the Craig/Hentie professional and helpful ?
Charly. Yes. The route was absolutely within my riding capabilities and the track provided was perfect
Peter. Yes. We asked for an easy route. Having got used to the bikes, would be up for more difficult next time.

b. Was the route and scenic and interesting?  

Charly. The first two days a little boring but the 3 last ones beautiful
Peter. Karoo was a bit dull, but interesting seeing the rural farming communities. Cederberg was amazing, would have liked to explore a bit more there. Coastal riding amazing.

 

c. Can you list any highlights of the experience?

Charly. the Whales Coastal Route, the Pass in day 4
Geoff. CEDERBERG AND MOUNT CEDAR. BAINSKLOOF PASS
Peter. Table mountain (not part of the trip)

Accommodation: The lodge in the Cederberg. Lord Milner hotel and tour.

Scenery: vineyard region.Coastal road back to West Somerset.

Riding. The track past Cederberg Oasis.
 

d. Was the accommodation acceptable and comfortable?

Charly. Super top but needed some adjustment in the booking on arrival
Peter. Excellent choice apart from West Somerset.  The pub was OK but the rest a  bit run down and food not the same standard as the other places.

 

e. Were the Motorcycles and accessories in good condition? .

Peter. All excellent
Charly. No problem with that , everything was OK
Geoff. defective inner tube in my very worn rear tyre. Otherwise excellent.

 

f. What rating out of ten would you give the whole experience with Africa Twin Rentals ?

A solid 10 out of 10 for everything!
Geoff. 9/10
Peter. 9/10
Charly. 8.5/10

 

g. Was the experience something you would recommend to friends with similar Motorcycling interest?

Charly. Yes , for sure
Geoff. yes
Peter. Yes. I already have.

 

 h. Would you consider touring with Africa Twin Rentals again?
Peter. Yes. Need to come back for the Garden route.
Geoff. yes

Charly. yes

Charly.   An amazing tour that let us discover some very nice places and people in the Cape Town area
Geoff. Exceptional experience of off road cape riding in extraordinary landscape with good food and accommodation. nothing technical or difficult even on a c 240kg bike (fully loaded).
Peter. A great package. Nice to have everything organized with the flexibility of starting when we want, with the choice of doing lunch  or not. Only recommend virtual tour for those with experience.

 

- Peter, Charly, Geoff

Honda Africa Twin Rentals and Tours in South Africa

Here are a few Basic questions we ask our clients:

August 2017 - Brian & Friends - Dubai, UAE
5 Day Custom Cederberg , Karoo and Namakwaland Guided Tour


 

a. Did you find the route within your riding capabilities and was the Craig/Hentie professional and helpful ?
Yes. We were a mixed group in terms of experience - so it was good to see that Craig was evaluating each of us from the beginning and we progressed to a difficulty level that all seemed comfortable with. There were some challenging spots - but that’s part of the adventure - and certainly nothing didn’t have us coming back for more!

 

b. Was the route and scenic and interesting?  

The route and scenery were simply fantastic from beginning to end. The beautiful scenery of the area is well know and certainly doesn’t disappoint. But Craig also made the effort to point out the smaller things, on and off the bike, that you wouldn’t know about unless you had his knowledge and experience.
 

c. Can you list any highlights of the experience?

Every day was enjoyable from beginning to end - even the ride through the rain between Loeriesfontein and Niewoudtville (well almost!). If I was forced to choose a highlight then it would have to be the ride through the Cederberg from beginning to end culminating in an overnight stay at the beautiful Mount Cedar.
 

d. Was the accommodation acceptable and comfortable?

All accommodation exceeded expectations. We enjoyed each overnight stop for different reasons - which is just the kind of variety you want for an adventure ride. We also noticed that at every location Craig was clearly well known to the owner/manager and warmly received.
 

e. Were the Motorcycles and accessories in good condition? .

The Honda Africa Twin bikes we had were just fabulous! We’re all riding different bikes back home so it was a great chance to experience something different. We chose Honda Africa Twins because we’d heard so many good reports - and they certainly didn’t disappoint. The team were all professional and friendly in equal measure and we had first class service from the moment we arrived to see those shiny new Honda Africa twin bikes sitting out side the store waiting to take us on an adventure.
 

f. What rating out of ten would you give the whole experience with Africa Twin Rentals ?

A solid 10 out of 10 for everything!
There is no doubt that Craig knows pretty much every nook and cranny on the route we rode. We were very comfortable leaving all the routing and accommodation arrangements to him and his choices were fantastic.
Craig is not only a professional guide but also a first class photographer - so whilst we were enjoying the ride and amazing scenery, he was working hard looking for great shots to ensure that we had great memories to look back on.

 

g. Was the experience something you would recommend to friends with similar Motorcycling interest?

Absolutely. In fact we already started spreading the word prior to the trip by sharing the route provided by Craig. Now that we’ve completed the experience we have great memories and pictures to share with our like-minded friends.
 

 h. Would you consider touring with Africa Twin Rentals again?
Yes. It’s a great combination between Craig and his guiding and motorcycling experience and Hentie’s team on the rental side.
 

This was our first adventure bike trip overseas since starting adventure biking just over a year ago - so we are by no means experts. But Craig ensured that we all had a fantastic experience from beginning to end. Some parts were a little challenging for some of us - but Craig made sure that each aspect was carefully explained and everyone managed to cope with challenges without too much difficulty. The route, accommodation, scenery, service and entire experience was just great.

 

If you’re looking for an adventure riding experience in South Africa then I would thoroughly recommend using this team.
 

- Brian - Dubai, UAE

Honda Africa Twin Rentals and Tours in South Africa

Here are a few Basic questions we ask our clients:

May 2017 - Richard, UK  -
6 Day Custom Cederberg , Karoo and Namakwaland Guided Tour


 

a. Did you find the route within your riding capabilities and was the Craig/Hentie professional and helpful ?
The route was fantastic and was within my riding capabilities, that said on the few occasions where I felt a bit nervous due to my lack of experience riding on gravel and sand Craig Marshall put me at ease and help me with an expert to Tuition wherever needed.

 

b. Was the route and scenic and interesting?  

The route and scenery were repeating my own words which I found myself using over and over during the trip; "absolutely amazing" I have never experienced such fantastic scenery.
 

c. Can you list any highlights of the experience?

I specifically enjoyed seeing the old ox wagon routes as well as our first night where we stayed at the Lord Milner hotel in Matjiesfontein.
 

d. Was the accommodation acceptable and comfortable?

The accommodation was comfortable and the scenery wherever we stayed was absolutely breath-taking.
 

e. Were the Motorcycles and accessories in good condition? .

The Honda Africa twin is an absolutely superb motorbike and I found
it incredibly comfortable and perfectly suited to the conditions where ever
we rode both the bike and the accessory supplied were in fantastic condition.

 

f. What rating out of ten would you give the whole experience with Africa Twin Rentals ?

Without a doubt I would rate this experience as 10 out of 10,
The rental experience was fantastic as I've said previously the bike was fantastic and in great condition, Craig Marshall is quite clearly at the top of his game his route knowledge is 2nd to none as well as being a very experienced rider and instructor which I found really really helpful at times, I would not hesitate to recommend him as he was absolutely fantastic.

 

g. Was the experience something you would recommend to friends with similar Motorcycling interest?

Yes Absolutely, this experience was absolutely fantastic; I have already recommended this experience to several Friends and riding colleagues in the UK.
 

 h. Would you consider touring with Africa Twin Rentals again?
Africa Twin rentals were extremely professional and the bike supplied was in fantastic condition, Hentie was a cracking guy who I found very helpful, I will definitely use Africa twin rentals again.

 

Well what amazing experience !
Prior to this my only off-road experience was over two visits to an off-road riding school in Wales where the riding conditions were very different to those found in South Africa, Craig was absolutely fantastic and put me at ease with expert help and training all the way. The scenery was absolutely breath-taking as was experience and as I've mentioned earlier I'm in the process of booking my next trip for later this year. 


Regards - Richard , UK

Here are a few Basic questions we ask our clients:

February 2017 - Martin, USA - 7 Day Guided Garden Route Tour


 

a. Did you find the route within your riding capabilities and was the Craig/Hentie professional and helpful ?
Yes. Both Craig and Hentie were professional and friendly. Craig responded quickly to provide information about the tour. He’s an expert on riding and equipment, gave a lot of advice on tour, and adjusted the route to suit the group and weather. 

 

b. Was the route and scenic and interesting?  

Yes. A lot of beautiful mountain passes, gravel district roads, and an ostrich farm or three ... 
 

c. Can you list any highlights of the experience?

The Swartberg Pass and the Die Hel road. The road to Prince Albert and meeting people all round town in search of whisky and a GPS cable. The Laird's Arms at Matjiesfontein
 

d. Was the accommodation acceptable and comfortable?

Yes and three places were excellent (The Lord Milner, Buffelsdrift and Rijk’s).
 

e. Were the Motorcycles and accessories in good condition? .

Excellent condition – almost new. Very well maintained and set up to be puncture resistant (tyre slime!). 
 

f. What rating out of ten would you give the whole experience with Africa Twin Rentals ?

Quality of bikes, route, and guiding: 10/10. Overall experience on this trip: 8/10.
 

g. Was the experience something you would recommend to friends with similar Motorcycling interest?

Yes 
 

 h. Would you consider touring with Africa Twin Rentals again?
Yes 

Great bike, spectacular scenery, expert guiding. Learned a lot about biking from Craig and others in our group. If like me you're fairly new to it, be aware that---like on a ski trip---if others are much more experienced, you might not ride with them so much as catch up at the end of the trail. Used a spare GPS for the last few days which let me build experience at my own pace and make some extra stops to take in the landscape (if you want to make regular stops, consider a shorter route---we covered 250-300km/day---or self-guided). The bikes are set up to be robust (e.g., crash bars, and soft bags which are much cheaper to repair than dented boxes), and it's worth being aware it's common to drop your bike at some point (happened to about half our group) with minimum repair costs of ZAR450-900 (covers polishing/buffing the crash bars). Overall, a quality tour experience in a beautiful part of the world. Thanks to Craig and Hentie.

Regards - Martin, USA

Here are a few Basic questions we ask our clients:

March 2017 - Stefan, UK - 10 Day Custom Guided Garden Route Tour


 

a. Did you find the route within your riding capabilities and was the Craig/Hentie professional and helpful ?
The route was well within my capabilities, (just challenging enough) and both Craig Marshall and Hentie Fourie were extremely professional and helpful.

 

b. Was the route and scenic and interesting?  

 The scenery was totally awesome and beyond interesting.
 

c. Can you list any highlights of the experience?

 Many, many highlights: especially memorable were the ride through the Gondwana game park, Bonniedale Farm, the ride through the Knysna forest, the Outeniqua Trout Lodge, the Swartberg Pass, Seweweekspoort, and of course the whole Cederberg experience.
 

d. Was the accommodation acceptable and comfortable?

 The accommodation was all excellent with good food every place.
 

e. Were the Motorcycles and accessories in good condition? .

 The motorbike and saddlebags were all in very good condition.
 

f. What rating out of ten would you give the whole experience with Africa Twin Rentals ?

 My rating for the whole trip would be 10/10.
 

g. Was the experience something you would recommend to friends with similar Motorcycling interest?

 I would highly recommend the experience to like-minded motorcyclists.
 

 h. Would you consider touring with Africa Twin Rentals again?
I hope to be able to do more trips through Africa Twin Rentals.

As a relatively inexperienced rider on unpaved roads I would have lacked the confidence to embark on such a trip on my own. As it was, I was made to feel comfortable and welcome, I was given all the guidance and assistance I needed, there was not a day I didn't enjoy and several I would describe as 'Best Days Ever'. The food, the accommodation, Hentie's company, and above all the scenery and the roads were awesome, and naturally I fell in love with the Africa Twin! Thank you for making these 10 days among the most memorable ever. I can't recommend you and your company highly enough and I certainly hope to be back.

Regards - Stefan, UK

Here are a few Basic questions we ask our clients:
October 2016 - Andoni, Spain - Self Guided GPS Tour

a. Did you find the communication by Staff, Craig Marshall & Hentie Fourie and service from Africa Twin Rentals very Professional ?

We had not problems at all, the staff was very kind and helpful.
 

b. Can you list any highlights of the experience Riding the Africa Twin?

A great bike, easy to handle, with a large torque throughout the range

c. Were the Motorcycles and accessories in good condition?

The bike was pretty new with 1000 kilometers, brand new accessories.

 

d. What rating out of ten would you give the whole experience with Africa Twin Rentals ?

Definitely it was a 10/10

e. Was the experience something you would recommend to friends with similar Motorcycling interest?

Of course, in fact I've done it.

f. Would you consider touring with Africa Twin Rentals again?

I just found complicate to reach your facilities if your based at Cape Town, Not good commuters..

Regards, Andoni, Spain

Facebook Review, Robert, Thailand:
 

October 2016 - Robert, Thailand -  - Self Guided GPS Tour

Have to say after damaging the bike I rented in South Africa which i had paid a security deposit on I am delighted with how this has been handled by Hentie Fourie and Craig Marshall.

Copy of damaged parts list and more than reasonable charges mean I get a significant part of my security deposit back.... I was taken aback when Hentie Fourie phoned me after my crash and really couldn't care less about the bike , just wanted to know how I was....... its nice to deal with nice people and cant recommend enough these folks.....

Craig will organize a route for you and make it all come together .... www.africatwin.co.za and Hentie Fourie www.riderssa.co.za will organize the bike,
All the gear and has in his shop some very nice gear at very good prices....

 

Cant recommend these nice folks enough and for anyone interested in motorcycle touring South Africa whether it be tarmac or trail or a touch of both is a MUST NOT miss destination......

My next up trip for me is famous Garden Route and some high mountain passes in South Africa.....nice to deal with nice folks... thanks to you both gents......

 

Regards, Robert M

Self Guided 10 days, 5000km Tour Review, Luca, Italy
 

Questions:
a. Did you find the staff and email correspondence efficient and friendly,  did we meet all your needs ?
Answer: Staff and communications have worked great, quick response all time and all the info needed were provided.

b. Was the motorcycle and equipment in good condition, did you enjoy the new Africa Twin ?
Answer: Bike and equipment were perfect and, I hate, as a long time BMW rider, to say that the Africa Twin is the perfect bike to do this kind of trip. One day I have been able to make 440 km with a full thank!!! Average 23/km per liter!!! Two people and luggage.

c. Would you consider renting or touring with Africa Twin Rentals again ?
Answer: Sure I would do! Had a great service.

Regards, Luca Italy

Booking office Tel: +27 (0)741 90 99 77
craig @ africatwin.co.za

 

Unit 23, Store Secure

30 Old Paardevlei Road

The Interchange

Somerset West

Motorcycle, Overland  4x4 Rentals,  Adventure Travel & Photographic Safaris in Southern Africa

Africa Twin Rentals is a Proud member of the MSA Travel Africa  Group

© 2025 by Craig Marshall